Make /Tools Your Home | Link to us

Today's posts | Posts since last visit | Most Active Topics

All Forums Register Login Search Subscriptions My Profile Inbox
Tool Warehouse FAQs Resources Help Member List Address Book Logout

DOS vs. Unix line endings

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [SFU / Interix / SUA Technology] >> SFU / Interix - Getting Started >> DOS vs. Unix line endings Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
DOS vs. Unix line endings - May 10, '06, 12:47:32 AM   
dpchrist

SFU/Interix - Getting Started:

I'm an SFU newbie coming from Cygwin. I have installed SFU 3.5, SFU bash, run chsh, copied/edited the SFU shell shortcut, and set my $HOME environment variable to match my Cygwin home. When I launch SFU bash, it attempts to run .bash_profile:

Welcome to the Interix UNIX utilities.

DISPLAY=localhost:0.0
: command not found
bash: /dev/fs/C/cygwin/home/dpchrist/.bash_profile: line 95: syntax error: unexpected end of file
bash-3.00$

Running some simple tests, it appears that SFU uses Unix line endings. I prefer DOS line endings on Microsoft platforms, and have configured Cygwin to use DOS line endings.

Is there a way to configure SFU to use DOS line endings?

TIA,

David
Post #: 1
RE: DOS vs. Unix line endings - May 10, '06, 3:37:08 AM   
Rodney

Nope.
Some specific applications/API that read text files will read both ways, but most not.
Use the flip utility to set the files to Unix endings (or Mac or DOS) [flip -u].

(in reply to dpchrist)
Post #: 2
RE: DOS vs. Unix line endings - May 10, '06, 10:04:56 PM   
dpchrist

Line endings need to be consistant across all text files on a system. Line endings are a fundamental design decision of a given platform, and intertwined throughout the implementation. Going against convention only invites grief.

3rd party tools which impose a requirement for non-native line endings will be of limited use.